RSS

You Tickle My Heart

28 Dec

From the moment you came into my life,

From the time I held you in my arms,

I’ve been raised to a different plain.

I’ve been lost to you love and your charms.

You see the world through a child’s eyes.

I’ve been watching you learn and grow.

You have a special way of questioning things.

What makes the sun shine?  What makes the wind blow?

But there is no question that right from the start,

You’ve made me so happy; you tickle my heart.

I can only give you my love, for now.

I can raise you and see to your needs.

I can teach you some of the lessons I’ve learned.

But, I can only plant the seeds.

What you give back is truly a gift.

With northing and time you unfold.

You remind me of what is important in life.

I hope your future is paved in gold.

And there is no question that right from the start,

You’ve made me so happy; you tickle my heart.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “You Tickle My Heart

  1. memyselfandkids

    December 28, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    Sweet. Kids really do affect us.

     
    • judithtfisher

      December 28, 2012 at 2:56 pm

      Wrote that almost 20 years ago… Funny how that part of being a parent doesn’t change, but so many other things do… Thanks for the comment!

       
      • memyselfandkids

        December 28, 2012 at 4:21 pm

        My boys are on the younger side (6 &8). I wonder how I will look at them when they have grown into men.

         
  2. judithtfisher

    December 28, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    Originally written in 1993 as a young mother… believe it or not, it still holds true!

     

Leave a Reply

 
