RSS

That’s What Hope Is

13 Jun

I listened to the songs that brought me down

I went for a swim… and I wanted to drown.

Looking for something to get me out of my gloom

Thinking that life is just a faded bloom.

 

My world was dark by my own device.

Pushing the envelope and paying the price.

Living this way and the years have flown,

Choosing a path that kept me alone.

 

I want to know

That everything will be okay

That’s what faith is.

I want to have faith

That everything will be all right

That’s what hope is.

 

There is a way to cut myself free.

I can turnabout.  I can discover me.

There is an easier and softer way.

I can start anew and fresh each day.

 

I can fill the hours and give myself joy.

A gift of bliss that I never employ.

Now I know its not out of my scope

All I need is faith; all I need is hope.

 

I want to know

That everything will be okay

That’s what faith is.

I want to have faith

That everything will be all right

That’s what hope is.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2013 in Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
